### LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

### 21 JUNE 2021

Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins and Lent

#### 19 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Ashley Lister due to other Council business.

### 20 : APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

It was noted that Council, at its annual meeting, on 27 May 2021 appointed Councillor Sarah Merry as Chairperson, Local Authority Governor Panel for the municipal year 2021 – 2022.

### 21 : MEMBERSHIP & TERMS OF REFERENCE

It was noted that Council, at its annual meeting, on 27 May 2021noted the following Committee Membership and Terms of Reference, which had been amended, for the municipal year 2021 – 2022.

### Membership:

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Sean Driscoll, Robert Hopkins, Sue Lent, Ashley Lister, Sarah Merry and Graham Thomas.

### Terms of Reference:

- a) To advise the Council on appointments (and removal) of governors to be made by the Local Authority;
- To consider and make decisions relating to the recruitment, training and vetting of potential governors and any other matters that may be referred to the Panel by the Cabinet or the Constitution Committee; and
- c) All Members of the Committee will be required to undertake relevant training to enable them to properly discharge their duties.

# 22 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following Declarations of Interest were received in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct:

COUNCILLOR	ITEM & SCHOOL	INTEREST
Cllr Sarah Merry	8a – Albany Primary	Prejudicial Interest –
	School	knows applicant very
		well.
Cllr Sue Lent	8a – Albany Primary	Prejudicial Interest –
	School	knows application very
		well.
Cllr Dilwar Ali	8a – Gabalfa Primary	Personal Interest – on
	School	the Governing Body for

		Gabalfa Primary
		School.
Cllr Emma Sandrey	8a – The Hollies	Personal Interest –
-		Councillor colleague.
Cllr Sean Driscoll	8a – Whitchurch	Personal Interest –
	Primary School	knows applicant.
Cllr Sean Driscoll	8b - Pentyrch Primary	Personal Interest –
	School	Councillor colleague

### 23 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 8 March 2021 were approved as a correct record of that meeting.

## 24 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received the list of vacancies for Local Authority School Governs and RESOLVED to note the list.

To note the list of vacancies for Local Authority School Governors received.

## 25 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

The Committee RESOLVED that the public be excluded for the following items of business as they contains exempt information by virtue of paragraph 12 of Part 4 and paragraph 21 of Part 5 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

26 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

## 27 : EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF VACANCY	APPOINTED
Baden Powel Primary School	Splott	30/01/2021	Neera Singh
Fairwater	Fairwater	29/03/2021	George Fleri
Primary School		01/05/2021	Alison Bond
Ffederasiwn y Ddraig	Llanrumney & Trowbridge	27/01/2021	Cai Maxwell
Gabalfa Primary School	Llandaff North	22/04/2021	Les Maxim
St Mellons C.W Primary School	Llanrumney	01/05/2021	Clyde Darrell

The Hollies	Pentwyn	2803/2021	Cllr Emma
School			Sandrey
Whitchurch	Whitchurch &	07/03/2021	Jonathan
Primary School	Tongwynlais		Morgan
Ysgol Gyfun	Penylan	28/11/2021	Elin Arfon
Gymraeg Bro			
Edern			
Ysgol Gymraeg	Canton	18/06/2021	Rhodri Ab Owen
Pwll Coch			

# 28 : FUTURE LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to future vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to future Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF VACANCY	APPOINTED
Birchgrove Primary School	Heath	29/09/2021	Mike Ash- Edwards
Glyncoed Primary School	Pentwyn	30/09/2021	Sarah Jane Francis
Llanishen High School	Llanishen	01/09/2021	Louise Casella
Pentyrch Primary School	Pentyrch	29/09/2021	Cllr Gavin Hill- John
Rhiwbeina Primary School	Rhiwbina	29/09/2021	Tom Gallard
St Fagans C.W Primary School	Ely	29/09/2021	Claire Hill
St Illtyd's Catholic High School	Rumney	29/09/2021	Justine Pianowski
St Monica's C.W Primary chool	Cathays	31/08/2021	Cllr Ali Ahmed
The Hollies School	Pentwyn	25/09/2021 29/09/2021	Claire Hardy Lisa Gerson
Trelai Primary School	Caerau	25/09/2021	Les Maxim
Willows High School	Splott	29/09/2021	Camilla Lovelace
Ysgol Gymraeg Pwll Coch	Canton	29/09/2021	Bethan Jenkins

29 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

There were no urgent items.

# 30 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Panel is on Monday 20 September at 5.00 pm via MS Teams.

The meeting terminated at 5.45 pm